Home » Forum Home » General

Topic: Why is Pente not as popular or studied as chess and go?
Replies: 10   Views: 34,360   Pages: 1   Last Post: Oct 9, 2011, 2:43 PM by: nosovs

Search Forum

Back to Topic List
Replies: 10   Views: 34,360   Pages: 1  
remix79

Why is Pente not as popular or studied as chess and go?
Posted: Sep 14, 2011, 1:08 AM

I would love to see more attention paid to Pente ala chess and go, both in terms of public tournaments and literature. Why is this not the case in your opinion? Is it that Pente lacks the beginning/mid/end game complexity of those other two abstracts? Does it not lend itself to long-term strategy and planning? Is it too dependent on forced lines (whatever that really means)? I'm just beginning to study Pente and have found very little aside from the two Braunlich books (and, of course, this great website and community). Thanks.

zoeyk

Home page
Re: Why is Pente not as popular or studied as chess and go?
Posted: Sep 16, 2011, 2:20 AM

well i keep meaning to write a book, and up2ng wanted to write one too. for him i think it was a time issue. for me i start on stuff but get mental blocks or basically hit a burn out hindering my writers inspiration. plus many of the concepts i want to discuss constantly evolve. in addition there is still a slight debate on what are correct definitions and term usages to create a pente language.
as for why its not as big as go and chess, well it ends in less moves. its not as complex. and none have heard of it because the ones who bought the rights to pente decided to financially put it on the back burner and let games like monopoly and rubics cube to the front stage in advertizements. pente became the step child that they didn't care about, nor believe in. if there were commercials on tv for it over the last 30 years then all the world would know it as a American house hold name. pente is a underground small community thing and will stay that way Forever and ever. sad but true.